← All guides
Mealime vs Meals Hub: What Changes on October 21, 2026
7 min read · Grocerplan
Mealime's closing notice says the app "will be discontinued as of October 21, 2026." Its recipes continue in Meals Hub, a free recipe and meal-planning feature inside the store apps and websites of Albertsons Companies. The notice shows 13 of its stores: Safeway, Albertsons, Vons, Jewel-Osco, ACME Markets, Shaw's, Tom Thumb, Randalls, Pavilions, Star Market, United Supermarkets, Haggen and Carrs. Mealime says Meals Hub is supported by the same core team that developed its recipes, and that you can browse recipes, create meal plans and make shopping lists there even if you can't shop at one of those stores. Your Mealime data does not come with you: all personal data is deleted at the shutdown, the notice mentions no export, and certain preferences and settings have to be set up again in Meals Hub.
What Meals Hub is
Meals Hub is the recipe and meal-planning section of the Albertsons Companies grocery apps. Mealime's FAQ says Albertsons Companies acquired Mealime in 2021, that its recipes and planning tools have been in those apps since then, and that Meals Hub is now the company's "primary recipe and meal-planning platform." In a store app, tap More in the bottom right corner, then Meals Hub; there is also a web version on the store websites. Mealime promises new recipes "added regularly" by the same chef team, and "Continued support for dietary preferences and food restrictions," which you set in your Meals Hub profile after you sign in.
What carries over, and what doesn't
•
Mealime's recipes: yes. "All Mealime recipes will continue to be available on Meals Hub."
•
Your favorites, plans and lists: not stated. The FAQ asks "Will my favorite recipes still be available?" and answers that all Mealime recipes continue in Meals Hub. That answer is about the recipes. The notice does not say that your saved favorites, meal plans or shopping lists move.
•
Your account: no transfer described. Asked whether you can transfer your Mealime account information, the FAQ says to create or sign in to an Albertsons Companies store app, and that certain preferences and settings must be set up directly in Meals Hub.
•
Your personal data: deleted. "All personal data will be deleted when the Mealime application is shut down." The notice names no export, and according to Plan to Eat's blog, Mealime doesn't offer a bulk recipe export.
•
Pro: free to the end. Pro features are now free for every Mealime user, and Pro subscribers "will not be charged any additional subscription fees" before the shutdown.
Mealime and Meals Hub side by side
Mealime
•
Status: discontinued as of October 21, 2026.
•
Where it runs: iOS and Android apps, plus a web app, per its help docs.
•
Price: free; Pro features are free for everyone until the shutdown.
•
Recipes: Mealime's own catalog, public at mealime.com/recipes. Its mobile app can also import most recipes from the web.
•
Diets and allergies: 8 diet types. Its getting-started guide says it can eliminate 12 allergies and 124 commonly disliked ingredients, but its allergies article lists 10 by name, so its own help docs disagree.
•
Servings: meals scale to up to 6 servings.
•
Store handoff: the getting-started guide names Kroger (and its banners), Walmart Grocery, Amazon Fresh and Instacart.
Meals Hub
•
Status: where Mealime's recipes continue.
•
Where it runs: inside the Albertsons Companies store apps and websites. You sign in with a store account.
•
Price: free, including the recipes that needed Mealime Pro.
•
Recipes: all of Mealime's recipes, plus thousands more.
•
Diets and allergies: Mealime's notice promises support for "dietary preferences and food restrictions" but does not list them.
•
Servings: not stated in Mealime's notice.
•
Store handoff: the store you sign in to. In December 2025, Albertsons Companies said a shopping assistant on its store websites, reached in Meals Hub, can build "a practical weekly meal plan and shopping list with de-duplicated ingredients added to cart." No other store is named.
Who should simply move to Meals Hub
If you shop at Safeway, Albertsons, Vons, Jewel-Osco or another of the 13 stores, and you mostly cooked Mealime's own recipes, move to Meals Hub. You keep the recipes and the team behind them, it costs nothing, and it is built around shopping at a store you already use. Set it up before October 21, while you can still check your favorites against Mealime.
Who might look elsewhere
•
You want a standalone app. Meals Hub lives inside a grocery chain's app or website and needs a store account.
•
Your household eats differently. Mealime's notice puts dietary preferences in "your Meals Hub profile" and describes no separate diets or allergies per person. Mealime's help article on sharing an account doesn't mention per-person preferences either.
•
You import recipes from other websites. Albertsons Companies says the same assistant can "import an online recipe or image and add ingredients to cart." Neither page says that recipe is saved to your Meals Hub plans.
•
You shop somewhere else. Plans and lists work without an Albertsons Companies store, but the only cart either page names is the store's own.
If one of those is you, Mealime alternatives compared puts Meals Hub next to planners that import recipes by link and build one grocery list, including ones that don't benefit us. Our Mealime alternative page compares Grocerplan with Mealime line by line.
What to do before October 21
1.
Write down your diet, allergies, disliked ingredients and serving size.
2.
List the Mealime recipes you actually cook, and copy each one's link from mealime.com/recipes.
3.
Screenshot this week's plan and shopping list. The notice names no export for them.
4.
Moving to Meals Hub? Sign in to your store's app, open Meals Hub from More, and set your dietary preferences again.
5.
Moving somewhere else? Import your favorites by link and cook one real week before Mealime closes.
6.
If you paid for Pro, check your subscription wherever you paid for it.
How to save your Mealime recipes walks through each step, including recipes you added to Mealime yourself.
Where Grocerplan fits
Grocerplan is a free web planner that is not tied to one grocery chain. It plans seven dinners for your household, gives each person their own diet and allergens (10 diets plus classic, and 9 allergens), scales each meal from 1 to 50 servings, and combines the week into one aisle-sorted grocery list you can check off, print, or send to Instacart, where you choose the store and check out. You can paste up to 10 recipe links at once, Mealime's included. Grocerplan may earn a commission when you check out on Instacart.
The limits are real. The catalog is small: 137 recipes, 78 of them dinners. It is a web app only, with no App Store or Google Play app. Keto, low-carb, paleo, Whole30 and Mediterranean have few recipes so far, so plans for those diets mix in other dinners and say so. Instacart is the only store handoff on the web today, and it works in the United States only. There is no export button yet. To see what the catalog cooks like, start with quick recipes: 86 of them, about 19 minutes on average.
Grocerplan is not affiliated with Mealime, Albertsons Companies, Plan to Eat, Kroger, Walmart, Amazon, Apple or Google; their names are trademarks of their owners. Instacart® is a registered trademark of Maplebear Inc.
Sources
•
Recipe counts, times, protein and cost figures come from Grocerplan's recipe index on 2026-10-07 (137 recipes); costs are estimates per serving.
•
Mealime's closing notice and FAQ, read October 7, 2026.
•
Mealime's recipe pages, read October 7, 2026.
•
Mealime help: getting started, read October 7, 2026.
•
Mealime help: scaling servings, read October 7, 2026.
•
Mealime help: sharing an account, read October 7, 2026.
•
Plan your week free
Grocerplan turns recipes into a free 7-day plan and one grocery list, ready for Instacart checkout or a trip to any store.
Start free →