Grocerplan
Start Free
Paprika alternative

A Paprika alternative that plans your week and builds the grocery list.

Grocerplan is a free web meal planner: it picks seven dinners for you, builds one grocery list and imports your recipes from a link. Paprika fits a big recipe box you can view offline.
7 dinners
picked for you in one tap, then one grocery list. Paprika builds a list from the meals you plan on its calendar.
Start free — no credit card
Compare Paprika, Plan to Eat and more →
YOUR WEEK
Mon – Sun
Seven dinners
Mon
Honey Garlic Salmon
Tue
Kung Pao Tofu
Wed
Batch Red Lentil Curry
Thu
Turkey Lettuce Wraps
…and three more, each one swappable.
ONE GROCERY LIST
Every ingredient for the week, sorted by aisle
Check it off in the store, print it, or send it to the store you choose.
Yes: Grocerplan, a free web meal planner, is a Paprika alternative that picks seven dinners for your week and builds one grocery list from them; the list opens on Instacart, where you choose the store and check out. Paprika builds a grocery list too, from the meals you plan on its calendar, and it is the better fit for a big recipe box of your own that you can view without an internet connection. Paprika is sold per platform: $4.99 for iPhone and iPad, $29.99 for Mac. Grocerplan keeps your recipes by importing them from a link, up to 10 at once and 30 a day.
Free meal plan
Try it: seven dinners for your household, by email.
Tell us a little about your household and we'll email you seven dinners picked for it, each with its recipe. Free.
Household:
1
2
3
4
5
6
Diet preference:
Any / Omnivore
Vegetarian
Vegan
Gluten-Free
High Protein
Send My Free Meal Plan
Takes 30 seconds. No credit card. No spam ever.
How Grocerplan compares
Grocerplan
Paprika
Price
Free. Grocerplan may earn a commission when you check out on Instacart.
$4.99 for iPhone and iPad, $29.99 for Mac; each version is sold separately. Paprika says premium features will require a subscription after its Paprika 4 beta
Where it runs
Any phone or computer browser. No App Store or Google Play app
Apps for iOS, Mac, Android and Windows, with cloud sync between them
Without an internet connection
No: Grocerplan is a website and needs a connection
Its App Store listing says all data is stored locally and no internet connection is needed to view your recipes
Who picks the meals
Plan my week picks seven dinners from Grocerplan's recipes; swap any one
You plan meals on daily, weekly or monthly calendars; picking meals for you is not stated on its site
Grocery list
One list for the week from your plan, combined and sorted by aisle
Add to Grocery List adds the planned meals' ingredients; similar items are combined and sorted by aisle
Your own recipes
Import from a link: up to 10 at once, 30 a day
Saved from the web with its built-in browser, organized into categories and subcategories
Diets and allergens per person
A profile per person: 10 diets plus classic, 9 allergens, dislikes
Not stated on its site
Send the list to a store
Instacart: you choose the store and check out there. Or print the list
Not stated on its site
Pantry
None yet
Tracks which ingredients you have and when they expire
Getting your data out
No export button yet. Print the list, or email us for a copy of your data
Exports meal plans to Calendar and grocery lists to Reminders; prints recipes, lists, menus and meal plans
Comparison reflects publicly documented features and pricing as of October 7, 2026; details may change. All trademarks belong to their owners.
What Grocerplan does
Set your household's diets, allergens and dislikes once and tap Plan my week: Grocerplan picks seven dinners from its own recipes, sized to your household. Put the recipes you import on any night by hand. The week ends in one grocery list, combined and sorted by aisle: check it off, print it, or tap Shop on Instacart.
Seven dinners picked for you in one tap, swappable one by one
Import recipes from a link: up to 10 at once, 30 a day
One grocery list for the week, combined and sorted by aisle
A profile per person: diet, allergens and dislikes
Shop on Instacart, or print the list for any store

Paprika vs Plan to Eat vs Grocerplan for grocery lists

•
Paprika: plan meals on its daily, weekly or monthly calendar, then Add to Grocery List adds their ingredients. The list combines similar ingredients ("1 egg + 2 eggs = 3 eggs") and sorts them by aisle. Sold per platform: $4.99 for iPhone and iPad, $29.99 for Mac.
•
Plan to Eat: pick your meals for its calendar and it builds the grocery list from that plan, organized by store and aisle, on one household account across as many devices as you like. Its shopping-list page says you can send the list to nearby stores but doesn't name the service. $5.95 a month or $49 a year after a 14-day free trial; no free plan.
•
Grocerplan: Plan my week picks seven dinners for you, and the list adds up their ingredients, scaled to each dinner's servings and sorted by aisle. Tap Shop on Instacart to choose a store and check out there, or print the list. Free.

Who should choose Paprika instead

Paprika is the better fit if what you want most is a big recipe box of your own. It organizes recipes into categories and subcategories, keeps a pantry of what you have and when it expires, and its App Store listing says all of your data is stored locally, so you can view your recipes without an internet connection. You pay once per platform today, though Paprika says premium features will require a subscription after the Paprika 4 beta. Choose Grocerplan if you'd rather have the week picked for you, give each person at home their own diet and allergens, and shop the list on Instacart.

Bring your Paprika recipes to Grocerplan

1.
For each recipe you saved from a website, open that recipe's page on the website and copy its link.
2.
In Grocerplan, open Recipes, tap Add recipe, then Import from link.
3.
Paste up to 10 links, one per line. You can import 30 recipes a day.
4.
Check each imported recipe: its ingredients are read from the page, and some sites can't be read yet.
5.
Recipes you typed into Paprika yourself have no web page to import, and Grocerplan takes recipes from links only, so those stay in Paprika for now.
6.
Open an imported recipe and tap Add to Plan to put it on a night. Plan my week fills the other nights from Grocerplan's recipes.

Honest limits

•
A small catalog: 137 recipes of our own, 78 of them dinners. For a big recipe box, Paprika fits better.
•
Plan my week picks only from Grocerplan's recipes. Recipes you import go onto your week by hand.
•
Imported recipes carry no allergy tags, so Grocerplan can't check them for your allergens, and the Plan tab's picker hides them while you have allergies set.
•
Recipes come in from links only: there is no way yet to type one in or import a file.
•
A website, not an App Store or Google Play app, and it needs an internet connection: there is no offline mode.
•
No pantry and no export button yet. Print the list, or email us for a copy of your data.
•
Instacart is the only store handoff on the web today. You can also print the list and shop anywhere.
•
Keto, Low Carb, Paleo, Whole30 and Mediterranean have few recipes so far, so plans for them mix in other dinners, and the Plan screen says so.

Questions

Is there a Paprika alternative that builds a grocery list for me?
Yes. Grocerplan picks seven dinners for your week from its own recipes and builds one grocery list from them, combined and sorted by aisle. Tap Shop on Instacart to choose a store and check out there, or print the list. Paprika builds a list too, from the meals you plan on its calendar.
Paprika vs Plan to Eat: which is better for grocery lists?
Both build the list from meals you plan. Paprika combines similar items and sorts by aisle, for a one-time price per platform. Plan to Eat sorts by store and aisle on one shared household account and can send it to nearby stores, for $5.95 a month or $49 a year. Paying once favors Paprika; sharing favors Plan to Eat.
Mealime plans for you and Paprika keeps your recipes. Is there an app that does both?
Grocerplan does both. Plan my week picks seven dinners from Grocerplan's recipes, and Import from link keeps the recipes you bring from websites, up to 10 links at once and 30 a day. You put imported recipes on a night yourself. Mealime's notice says it will be discontinued as of October 21, 2026.
Does Grocerplan work offline like Paprika?
No. Grocerplan is a website and needs an internet connection. Paprika's App Store listing says all of its data is stored locally and no internet connection is required to view your recipes, so if you cook where the signal is poor, Paprika fits better.
Can I move my Paprika recipes to Grocerplan?
Link by link. For each recipe that came from a website, copy that page's link and paste it under Recipes, Add recipe, Import from link: up to 10 at once, 30 a day. Recipes you typed in yourself have no page to import, and Grocerplan can't import files.
Is Grocerplan free?
Yes, in the browser on any phone or computer, with nothing to buy per device. Grocerplan may earn a commission when you check out on Instacart. Paprika is sold per platform and says premium features will require a subscription after its Paprika 4 beta.